Mark Twain to George Alfred Townsend [undated] praising “Tales of the Chesapeake”

loc_mark-twain-w_-george-alfred-townsend-_-feb-1871-taken-in-dc.jpg

Hartford, Feb. 26 [no date]

My dear Friend –

Many thanks for the book. I got it yesterday evening and gave it a chance toward bedtime, but it failed to put me to asleep or even make me drowsy. Few books treat me so unkindly. I read it more than half through, picking out the plums, such as “The Big Idiot,” “The Circuit Preacher,” etc., and greatly enjoyed the entertainment. Thank you again. I will respond when my book comes out, George Alfred.

Your friend,
S. L. Clemens

Source:

George Alfred Townsend: One of Delaware’s Outstanding Writers, Ruthanna Hindes, 1946. p. 50

Note:

GATH sent a letter to Frederick Douglass dated April 29, 1880 concerning “Tales of the Chesapeake.”

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

