Letter to the Editor of Republican, January 11, 1868 [NR, p. 2]

NR_ January 11, 1868, p. 2 _ Letter from Mark TwainMark Twain.

We cheerfully publish the following. It is sufficiently explicit:

Editor of Republican:

I am sorry to see that the papers announce another lecture from me for this evening. I meant to be understood, last evening, as postponing the second lecture, but I suppose I was not. The gentleman who engaged me to lecture was taken very sick twenty-four hours before I was to address the public; (I had been reading my lecture to him, but upon my sacred honor, I did not think it would be so severe on him as that.) He is sick yet. I cannot lecture without an agent to attend to business. Please insert this for me, and let it stand as a postponement of my lecture, until what time, the health of my unfortunate friend must determine. I will give him a chance though – I will not read the lecture to him any more.

Very truly,

Mark Twain.

SOURCE:

National Republican., January 11, 1868, p. 2

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

